Healthy Adults?

Standard

I’ve always been healthy.

 

Last Monday I went to a research study to study the effects of a new drug to combat cholesterol. They needed healthy adult volunteers to act as a control group.

 

So they measured my weight, height, and blood pressure. They took blood and urine samples to check for drugs, alcohol, cholesterol levels, BMI, HIV/AIDs, and maybe even Ebola.

 

I got hooked to an EKG machine, had a basic physical, and they even asked me if I was far sighted or suffered from myopia (I am far sighted).

 

They treated me well. And promised me they would give me my results and when to come in for some follow ups.

 

I called them on Friday as I had not received any news. They called back leaving only a message to call them back (usually this is not a good sign).

 

I started to worry. Did I suddenly develop a communicable disease? A terminal one?

Was this something more serious? Was this the seventh day of my six-day deodorant?

 

It turns out that my Body Mass Index (BMI) was out of range for their study. They wanted healthy adults with a BMI of 30 or above.

 

I checked the CDC website to find out what they consider to be a healthy BMI. Here’s a simple chart from their website:

 

BMI Weight Status
Below 18.5 Underweight
18.5 – 24.9 Normal
25.0 – 29.9 Overweight
30.0 and Above Obese

 

 

My BMI was just under 20. In other words, I failed because I was “too healthy”. Didn’t they want healthy volunteers? Just when did obesity become the new “healthy”?

 

Still puzzling over this one.

One thought on “Healthy Adults?

Leave a Reply

