Rob’s Remembrances, Reminders, and Rules, of Running

Standard

When I was in HS, we had to run a mile on the track for one mile each year. I was slender and could run for miles. Some of my peers were, shall we say gently, not in good shape.

I remember two of my times. One mile was completed in 6:01, the other 5:59. Wonderful times, to be sure. I certainly could have tried out for the cross-county team. Why I didn’t I don’t know. Perhaps it was because I was shy, lazy, slightly uncoordinated. I preferred the relative safety of books over possible, plausible, and inevitableness, of me, tripping and falling on the ground in front of all my co-runners. Later I figured out that while I was clumsy in walking, that clumsiness did not carry over when I ran. Maybe because running is an unstable system of movement.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Most runners run by themselves. Remember to wave, smile, or even just mouth “hello”, when you pass them. You just might make their day.

Mostly for older runners, but it doesn’t hurt the younger ones:
Get a good night’s sleep, eat less on a race day, stretch before and after a run.

Don’t forget to have fun! =)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I usually don’t get a chance to watch TV, but yesterday, I did watch part of the LA Marathon on the tele.

The leading runners, both males and females ran with power, grace, and style.

Back in the 1980s, there were TV experiments done with a major television stations (NBC) and Major League Baseball (MLB). Essentially, NBC broadcasted entire MLB baseball games nationwide without any announcers. It didn’t go far, but one thing was clear; it apparent that we TV watchers preferred some voice over the airwaves, just as long as it was concise and accurate, or at least amusing.

This lesson should be applied to other competitions, in this case, running. Interesting enough, there was a commentator on TV who stated, “Some of these runners look like they are in pain, but that is how they run.” Ridiculous! The reason why some people look like they are running in pain, are because they are in pain. It’s nothing to be ashamed of; in fact, most runners do experience pain sometime in their running career.

Runners, including myself, sometimes deny we are in pain while we are in a race. The denial is a tactic we use to help us finish the race. It also used to discourage our competitors. And uninformed announcers propagate this myth.

Back to the LA Marathon.

The front runners were running with power, grace, and style. It was a beautiful morning, the sun was out and it temperature was in the 60s. My favorite type of running environment!
I got inspired.

I ran a 10K (6.2 miles) this morning.

I feel good.

I am thinking of signing up for the Orange County ½ Marathon.

I think I will take a nap now.
Rob

Leave a Reply

