Things that I am Grateful About this Country

Standard

Starting from the theme of the day… I am thankful for the right to (over)eat and drink and consume into my body. I can make my choices by taste, texture, nutrition value, health concerns, the color of the food, or even peer pressure.

 

I don’t have to fast on anything. If I choose, I can eat pork, fish, milk products, and even cheeseburgers. I choose to be healthy first and taste second.

 

I don’t drink but that is because I don’t like the taste of alcohol. More chocolate milk please! =)

 

I am grateful for the wide range of clothing I am allowed to wear. I don’t have to wear long shirts, or long pants, or shoes, or feel ashamed when I freely eschew those garments. I don’t have to don a burqa or naqab or clothing that advocates something I don’t believe.

 

I am grateful that I have the freedom of expression, even to my own government. To be honest about how I feel about politicians, the government, the activists, the protesters, and can post or share these thoughts in a newspaper, in an open letter, on a radio program, on TV, in a blog, or even buy space on a billboard. And I don’t have to worry about a visit from Men In Black (MIB) or the secret police to take me away to a reeducation labor camp (I would like to think that I’m already educated!). I felt safe tonight making jokes about an orange-headed orangutan.

 

I am grateful I can choose my own religion. I can worship a shoe if I want. This may not be a good idea as I own only a few pairs of shoes and putting one up an altar would be a significant loss percentage wise (see above). And it’s nice to know that I found another way to recycle old shoes.

 

I am grateful I can freely reject any religion I don’t believe in. I am not forced to attend or participate in a church service, a communion, a baptism, a bar mitzvah, Chanukah, Passover, Ramadan, or any other religious service that I choose not to follow or observe. If I attend or practice a religious service, it would be because a friend invited me to share the experience with him or her. I can’t think of a better gift to give a friend! =)

 

I am grateful to be able choose what I want to learn in college, at a university, or even at a seminar. I can learn about electronics, computers, literature, psychology, oil painting, pencil drawing, creative writing, yoga, and religion, if for no other reason than to improve my life or just because I enjoy the subject matter.

 

And I value my friendships.

 

Thank you Ms. P for your long friendship!

 

Oil_Mountain_Landscpe_2A

One thought on “Things that I am Grateful About this Country

Leave a Reply

