Memorial Day

Standard

This weekend we celebrate Memorial Day, a day set aside to honor those who died while defending our freedoms.

 

Back in the 1980s, when I was still growing up, I had a conversation with a classmate of mine. I remember him as being (I’m going to be nice here) at least slightly misogynic and homophobic.

And I had the unfortunate experience of sitting next to him during class time and at least once he followed me outside the classroom (I don’t think he ever figured out why he wasn’t liked by most of his classmates). But back to the story, for it is short.

He asked if I had a problem with women serving in the military, calling them “weaker”. I told him I didn’t care if it was man or women who took a bullet for me.

Then he asked if I care if a gay guy (his words) was to serve in the military. I replied, “Why should it matter if a gay or straight guy were to stand up for my beliefs?”

He said I was gay because I stood up for them.

I told him I was not gay nor a female.

He went off to bother another classmate.

Congratulations to all those who protect my beliefs with their own lives.

 

Rob

There are many photos and wallpapers for Memorial Day one can download off the Internet. This one reminds of those who fought and died defending my rights before I was born.

 

memorial-day-wallpapers-3-1600x900

Leave a Reply

