52 Pokes in Six Months

Standard

Heart Stethoscope

 

As mentioned before, I completed my six months of chemotherapy. It’s a welcomed relief and now I have a less of worry of all my hair falling out. Some has, of course, fallen out. But it’s good to have extra baseball caps. Actually, I’m just kidding, it’s OK and I’m doing just fine.

 

One of the biggest problems about chemo, as you going to be there for about two hours, is the potential for extreme boredom. You need a good book, a set of headphones attached to something (MP3 player, CD player, etc.), and your imagination in case you forgot your book or your batteries have run down.

 

I found myself in just this situation a few weeks ago. No book, no music. Just me and my head and my imagination.

 

So I started to count the number of times they poked me with a needle, just so I could write about it (like now).

 

Here is the break-down:

 

One prick of a finger to get a blood test (OK, this is a prick and not really a poke. But if I was to write “52 Pricks in 6 Months”, it would probably have a negative connotation.)

 

24 Chemo Appointments

 

1 Needle prick per Appointment = 24

 

Now they do have to stick a needle in you to deliver the yucky chemo.

 

1 Needle insertion per Appointment = 24

 

And there were three times in which they had to remove the needle and find a better vein (I do have thin veins)

 

3 Needle insertion Re-dos = 3

 

So we have 24+24+3= 51 needle pokes and pricks.

 

And what about number 52?

 

Well, in three weeks I have to go for a final blood test. Which makes is 51+1=52

 

I’m tired of needles and pricks. But I really can’t complain. The sun is out, it’s warm outside, I got enough sleep last night, and eating a semi-healthy burrito as I type.

 

I’ll be out for this weekend, doing all my favorite things; cycling, walking (at least until I can get my strength back to running), playing board games, and writing.

 

You have fun this weekend!

 

 

Rob

Leave a comment